The 1909 State team which toured the eastern states.

The Hall of Fame was established to commemorate one hundred years of football achievement in Western Australia. The philosophy behind the Hall of Fame is to discover and highlight the very best talent that has graced football in WA since the official foundation of the code in 1896 - both on and off the field of play.

Since the inaugural induction ceremony in November 1996, 155 individuals have entered the four 'Halls'. The games' true legends are honoured through the Hall of Legends, while the Hall of Champions and Hall of Merit For Players pays tribute to other great players down the years. The Hall of Recognition commemorates those who've made a significant contribution off the field of play.

To celebrate one hundred years of competition by the State team, the Hall of Fame identified the 100 best players between 1902 and 2002. The final list included over thirty Australian internationals and Olympians plus several players with international experience with England, Scotland, Wales and Poland who had graced the local stage with their style, flair and elegance.

The Hall of Fame has also recognised the international achievements of Stan Lazaridis, Tony Franken, Alistair Edwards and Con Purser along with the State teams which competed at the 1948 Southern States Carnival, the 1967 Medeka Cup, the 1975 and 1976 Marah Halim Cup tournaments, and the historic 1977 State women's tour of Asia.

Last updated : 23rd May 2012