Executive Committee Members

Philip Orr
President
Philip Orr

Philip is a consultant plant physiologist with expertise in cyanobacteria, cyanobacterial toxins, bloom management and human health and reservoir risk assessment.

  philip.orr@aspab.cjb.net


John Beardall
Vice President
John Beardall

John is a Reader in the Biological Science Dept at Monash University.  He is a plant physiologist interested in photosynthesis, algal mediated benthic processes and biospectroscopy .  He and his research team were awarded the 2002 Provasoli Award.
.

 john.beardall@aspab.cjb.net



Shauna Murray

Secretary
Shauna Murray

Shauna has recently completed her PhD and is a postdoctoral fellow at the University of Sydney, working on the phylogenetics, systematics and toxicity of dinoflagellates.
 
shauna.murray@aspab.cjb.net


Joanna Jones
Treasurer
Joanna Jones (Kain)

Joanna Jones retired from the University of Liverpool in the UK, moved to Australia and is now a Visiting Fellow in the School of Botany and Zoology, Australian National University. She is engaged in intertidal research near Batemans Bay, NSW.


 
joanna.jones@aspab.cjb.net
Committee Members

Britta Schaffelke

Committee Member
Britta Schaffelke

Britta is a Phycologist with a distinguised research career having been awareded the Provasoli Award in 1999.  Britta is currently the Manager of Knowledge Exchange and Education with the CRC for Reef Research in Townsville.

britta.schaffelke@aspab.cjb.net



Tim Haggitt
Committee Member and Student Representative
Tim Haggitt

Tim is a Ph.D. student at Auckland University and is studying the ecophysiology of Eklonia dieback.  Tim is also helping
local communities develop monitoring programs to asses the effect of unrestrained shellfish harvesting.

tim.haggitt@aspab.cjb.net




Wendy Nelson
Committee Member
Wendy Nelson

Wendy is a marine botanist and has recently moved to NIWA as the co-ordinator of the
National Centre for Aquatic Biodiversity and Biosecurityfollowing a long career at the Museum of New Zealand Te Papa Tongerewa.  She is a member of numerous Natioanal and International  organisations dealing with phycolgy and aquatic botany.

wendy.nelson@aspab.cjb.net



Lindsey Zemke-White
Committee Member
Lindsey Zemke-White

Lindsey is a Post Doctoral Research fellow at the University of Auckland.  He studies the use of seaweeds by humans, and as a food source for herbivores.  He has a wide randge of interests outside science including performing arts and communication,
painting, plastering, carpentry and concrete laying, He isis also somewhat of a computer geek !

lindsey.zemke-white@aspab.cjb.net