Bharatpur Flag

BHARATPUR (Princely State)(17 gun salute)

LOCATION: Rajasthan AREA: 5,123 kmē PRIVY PURSE: Rs 502,000 POPULATION: xx RELIGION: Hindu
REVENUE: Rs DYNASTY/LINEAGE: Sinsinwar Jat SEAT: xx ACCESSION: 17th April 1949

PRESENT RULER: HH Shri Maharaja Shri Brajendra Sawai VISHVENDRA SINGH Bahadur Jang, 15th and present Maharaja of Bharatpur since 8th July 1995 (Moti Mahal Palace, Bharatpur-321001, Rajasthan)
born 23rd June 1962 at Moti Mahal in Bharatpur, he succeeded his father on 8th July 1995; he served as Chairman, Zila Parishad, Distt. Bharatpur, Rajasthan 1988/1989; Member of Parliament 9th Lok Sabha, Bharatpur constituency, Rajathan, 1989 - 1991; Member of the Legislative Assembly, Nadbai Constituency, Rajasthan, 1993-1998; Member of Parliament 13th Lok Sabha, Bharatpur constituency, Rajathan, 1999 - 2004; Member of the Committee on Science and Technology, Environment and Forests 1999-2004; Member of Parliament 14th Lok Sabha, Bharatpur constituency, Rajathan, 2004 - 2009; Member of the Committee on Personnel, Public Grievances, Law & Justice, 2004 - 2009; Member of the Legislative Assembly, Deeg Kumher Constituency, Rajasthan, from 2013; interests include wildlife, squash and tennis; he married on 15th February 1989, HH Maharani Divya Kumari born 6th November 1963 in Lucknow, daughter of Raja Surendra Singh Ju Dev of Behri, B.A., educated at Isabella Thorburn College, Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh; Member of the Zila Parishad, Bharatpur; Elected to the 11th Lok Sabha in 1996; on 12th May 2006, she was declared elected to the Vidhan Sabha from Deeg constituency (BJP) in a bye election as a result of the death of Shri Arun Singh (Rajkumar Arun Singhji of Bharatpur, see below), and has issue, one son.
PREDECESSORS AND SHORT HISTORY: At the end of the 17th century, Jat Baija, Zamindar of the village of Sansani took advantage of the weakness of the Sultanate of Delhi to enlarge his territory. His descendents, Churaman Singh and Badan Singh continued the expansion, the latter being the founder of the fortress of Bharatpur in 1724. The rulers were...
Source: G. C. Dwivedi, The Jats, Their role in Mughal Empire; Qanungo, History of the Jats, Ed. Dr Vir Singh (Delhi:2003); K. Natwar Singh, Maharaja Suraj Mal.
Source: "Ajay Raj Bharatpur 1775-1805" by Alok Khanna
1. Deposed for the death of Koddo Khawas by his hands at Abu on 2nd June 1900. Deposition of Maharaja Ram Singh and succession of Maharaj Kunwar Kishen Singh, his infant son in his place. IOR/R/2/169/277, 1900
2. "Who Was Who 1929-1940" ; Volume III ; London 1944 ; Adam & Charles Black; p.108
3. "Memoranda on The Indian States 1939", corrected up to 2nd January 1939, Published by the Manager of Publications, Delhi. Government of India Press, New Delhi. 1939.