Dhrangadhra Flag

DHRANGADHRA (Princely State)(13 gun salute)

LOCATION: Saurashtra AREA: 3,023 km² VILLAGES: Rs 380,000 POPULATION: 100,000 (1891) RELIGION: Hindu
REVENUE: xx DYNASTY/LINEAGE: Jhala SEAT: xx ACCESSION: 15th February 1948

Present Ruler:
HH Maharana Maharaja Shri Raj SODHSALJI MAYURDHWAJSINHJI Sahib, 46th Maharana Sahib of Dhrangadhra since 1st August 2010 (Sunder Vilas Palace, Gujarat, India) or (Adjitniwas Palace, Dhrangadhra - 363310, Gujarat, India)
born 22nd March 1944, Tikaraj Sahib [cr.1961], married 1stly, 6th May 1970, Yuvarani Saviti Devi [née Shahnoor Begum], born 16th November 1941, died 8th September 1983, daughter of Sahibzada Ata Muhammed Khan of Palanpur, married 2ndly, 21st September 1986, HH Maharani Aysha Devi [née Yashwant Kumari Shekhawat], born 1st December 1948, and has issue.
Predecessors and Short History:
The Jhala Rajputs are said to have entered Kathiawar from the north in 1090 and established themselves under Harpal Dev Makwana at Patdi. Afterwards they moved to Halvad and finally Dhrangadhra, which was founded in 1735. Rulers were....
1. "The Golden Book of India"; LETHBRIDGE, Roper, MacMillan & Co., 1893 , p.123
2. "Indian Annual Register" , N. N. Nitra, Calcutta 1945
3. "Memoranda on The Indian States 1939", corrected up to 2nd January 1939, Published by the Manager of Publications, Delhi. Government of India Press, New Delhi. 1939.