VILLAGES: 83 plus 28 mahals and 152 pattis
STATE: Oudh (Sitapur Distt.) DYNASTY: Bais RELIGION: Hindu

Raja DINESH PRATAP SINGHPRESENT RULER: Raja DINESH PRATAP SINGH, present Raja Saheb of Kasmanda since 1948.
born 1927, former MP, married Rani Chandra Prabha Devi, daughter of Raja Birendra Bikram Singh of Payagpur, Bahraich District, Oudh, and has issue.
  • Rajkumar Divyakar Pratap Singh, born 1950, married Rani Jaya Rajya Lakshmi, daughter of Lt.-Gen. Shri Bharat Shumsher Jung Bahadur Rana of Nepal, and has issue.
    • Rajkumari Deepshikha Kumari, born 1975, married 25th November 2009 in Jaipur, Rajkumar Manmath Singh of Patna, Orissa.
    • Rajkumari Chandrika Singh, born 1981.
  • Rajkumar Dinraj Pratap Singh, born 1952, married 1975, Rani Yadunandini, born 1956, daughter of HH Maharajadhiraj Maharawal Raghunath Singhji of Jaisalmer, and his wife, HH Maharani Mukut Rajya Lakshmi Devi, and has issue.
    • Kunwar Dinkrit Pratap Singh, born 1976.
    • Kunwar Dinkar Pratap Singh, born 1978, married the daughter of the Thakur Saheb of Junia, and has issue, one son.
      • Dinanjai Pratap Singh, born 2008.
  • Rajkumari Sukriti Prabha Singh [Rani Sukriti Prabha Singh Deo of Hindol], married Raja Bahadur Shailendra Narayan Singh Deo Mardaraj Jagadev of Hindol in Orissa, and has issue, two sons.
PREDECESSORS AND SHORT HISTORY: The estate is known as Bassaidih, but is better known by the name of the Raja's residence, viz. Kasmanda. It was founded by two brothers around 1628, and remained undivided till around 1838, whenit devolved on seven brothers, four of whom effected a division in 1836, and founded the estate of Sujalia, whilst the other three remained at Bassaidih. The estate holders were...
  • Raja Tilok Chand, married and had issue.
    • five generations
      • Thakur Bhikam Deo, he and his brother came to Bahimau (Bahrima) in Pirnagar district in around 1628, taking service with the Jagirdar, Kesh Das, Diwan of Pir Muhammaed Khan, Subedar of Oudh,
      • Thakur Thana Singh, Thakur of Bari, he arrived in District Sitapur, Oudh in 1628 and settled in Bari and Pirnagar, married and had issue. He died 1668.
        • three generations
          • Thakur Jagat Rai, Thakur of Bari (see below)

  • Thakur JAGAT RAI, Thakur of Bari
  • Thakur MADHUKAR SHAH, Thakur of Bari
  • Thakur Shah Mal GANESH RAI, Thakur of Sujalia, he settled in Sujalia, District Sitapur, Oudh.
  • Thakur KANDHIYA RAI, Thakur of Sujalia
  • Thakur DAMAN SINGH RAI, Thakur of Sujalia -/1746, he died 1746.
  • Thakur NEWAZ SHAH, Thakur of Sujalia 1746/1821, married and had issue. He died 1821.
    • Thakur (name unknown) Singh, he succeeded to Sujalia
    • Thakur Bhawani Singh (qv)
    • Thakur Himanchal Singh
    • Thakur Fateh Singh
  • Thakur BHAWANI SINGH, Thakur of Kasmanda 1821/1842, he greatly extended his property by purchases and mortgages; he moved from Bassaidih and settled in Kasmanda, District Sitapur, Oudh; married and had issue, two sons. He died 1842.
    • Kunwar Basant Singh, he died vpsp.
    • Thakur Jawahir Singh Sahib (qv)
  • Thakur JAWAHIR SINGH Sahib, Thakur of Kasmanda 1842/1910, born 1821, he rendered good service to the British Government during the mutiny of 1857, and was rewarded with the gift of a large portion of Barmhauli estate; married daughter of the Thakur of Bania Mau, Sitapur District, Oudh and had issue, seven children. He died 1910.
    • Thakur Girdhar Singh, eldest son; married and had issue.
      • Raja Sripal Singh, Thakur of Tikra (12 villages and 10 pattis), born 20th May 1870, on his grandfathers death, a dispute occurred as to the succession, and it went to arbitration, with the whole estate being awarded to Thakur Suraj Bakhsh Singh, with Thakur Sripal Singh, being awarded certain parts of the estate; Honorary Munsif of Siadhauli; he was granted the title of Raja as a personal distinction on 5th June 1920, in recognition of his good services during the Great War.
    • Raja Bahadur Suraj Bakhsh Singh Sahib (qv)
  • Raja Bahadur SURAJ BAKHSH SINGH Sahib O.B.E., Thakur of Kasmanda-Basaidih 1910/1948, born 15th September 1868, he succeeded to the gadi on 3rd June 1922; MLA, President of the British-Indian Association, the title of Raja was conferred in Janauary 1917 as a personal distinction and was made hereditary on 3rd June 1922; he was awarded the O.B.E.; married (amongst others), (b), the daughter of Raja Ganga Ram Shah of Khairigarh, Kheri District, Oudh and had issue. He died 1948.
    • Rajkumari Lalita Kumara Devi [Maharani Sahiba of Vizianagram], married Maharaja Sahib Pusapati Sir Viziaram IV Narayana Gajapathi Raju Manea Sultan Bahadur of Vizianagaram, Andhra Pradesh, and had issue.
    • Yuvraj Dewakar Prakash Singh, born October 1903, Honorary Magistrate and Honorary Munsif till 1937, married the daughter of the Raja Bahadur Raja Pratap Bahadur Singh of Pratapgarh, Pratapgarh District, Oudh and had issue, three children (one died young). He died vp in 1947.
      • Raja Dinesh Pratap Singh (qv)
      • Yuvarajkumari Savita Kumari alias Abha Raja, born 1923, married the Raja of Katesar, Sitapur District, Oudh.
  • Raja DINESH PRATAP SINGH, Thakur of Kasmanda (see above)
The help of Rajkumar Dinraj Pratap Singh is acknowledged, October 2002

Kunwar Dinkar Pratap Singh of Kasmanda (left) and Kunwar Dinkrit Pratap Singh of Kasmanda (right)