Philip Glass

  • Original Score Composed by: Philip Glass
  • Label: Nonesuch
  • Online Ordering Options: Amazon.com


Before there was Baraka there was Koyaanisqatsi (never fear, there is a pronunciation guide on the back cover). Both films have a lot in common -- no dialogue, stunning visuals and an excellent score. Which isn't surprising because the score really has to hold the movie together and keep the audience's attention

Though I prefer Baraka (the score and the movie), Koyaanisqatsi is still excellent. The score is darker and more brooding than Baraka is. I have tried to indicate the "feel" of each track with a single word, but this does not do the track justice, as they are richer and more textured. This is an excellent score for evoking emotions of ancientness and grandeur.

Track Listing and Notes

Expanded Release

  1. Koyaanisqatsi (3:25) - longing
  2. Organic (7:46) - sad
  3. Cloudscape (4:32) - searching
  4. Resource (6:39) - uneasy
  5. Vessels (8:05) - religion
  6. Pruit Igoe (7:53) - loss
  7. The Grid (21:23) - quiet
  8. Prophecies (13:36) - endings

Total Running Time: 73:21

The Wanderer's Rest is currently undergoing a major overhaul. If you find any broken links or strange pages please e-mail the Webmaster at dschibeci@iinet.net.au

Koyaanisqatsi © ??.